Quizlet CH 13 PPV Study online at quizlet.com/_nmhx5

- Articles of Confederation: The first plan of government of the United States. IN effect from 1781 to 1789m it gave more power to the states than the central government.
- Shay's Rebellion: A revolt in 1786 of Massachusetts farmers, led by Daniel Shays, who opposed tax decisions of the state courts
- 3. **Northwest Ordinance:** A law passed by Congress in 1787 organizing the Northwest Territory for settlement and eventual statehood.
- 4. territory: An area of land that belongs to a government.
- 5. **statehood:** Becoming a state in the United States
- 6. **Richard Allen:** 1760-1831. Abolitionist and founder of the Free African Society in 1787. He helped found the first African Episcopal Church in 1816 with Absalom Jones.
- 7. Daniel Shays: 1747?-1825. American Revolutionary officer who lead a rebellion of Massachusetts farmers against state courts in 1786.
- 8. Northwest Territory: The land claimed by the United States after the Revolutionary War and organized as a territory in 1787, including what became the states of Indiana, Wisconsin, Ohio, Michigan, and Illinois.
- 9. Constitutional Convention: The meeting of twelve states' delegates in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, that replaced the Articles of Confederation with a new Constitution.
- 10. Virginia Plan: The plan, drawn up by James Madison and adopted by the Constitutional Convention in 1787, that established three branches of the federal government.
- IL **legislative branch:** The law-making part of government, with the power to raise the money related to running the government.
- 12. **executive branch:** The part of the government, headed by the President, that carries out the laws.
- 13. **judicial branch:** The part of government that decides the meaning of the laws.
- 14. **Supreme Court:** The head of the judicial branch of the federal government. It is the highest court in the country.
- 15. New Jersey Plan: The plan offered by the small states at the Constitutional Convention of 1787 that would have given all states an equal number of representatives in Congress.
- 16. Great Compromise: The plan drawn up by Roger Sherman at the Constitutional Convention in 1787. It proposed the establishment of two houses of Congress.
- 17. House of Representatives: The house of Congress in which each state's number of representative is determined according to its population.
- 18. Senate: The house of Congress in which each state has an equal number of representatives, or Senators, regardless of population.
- Alexander Hamilton: 1757-1804. Colonial assembly member, delegate to the Constitution, and first Secretary of the Treasury from 1789-1795.

- 20. James Madison: 1751-1836. Author of the "Federalist Papers" he was knows as the "Father of the Constitution" because of his influence at the Constitutional Convention.
- 21. **George Mason:** 1725-1792. Delegate to the Constitutional Convention who called for a Bill of Rights.
- 22. **Roger Sherman:** 1721-1793. Patriot who proposed the Great Compromise at the Constitutional Convention in 1787 that established the two houses of Congress.
- 23. **point of view:** The position from which a person looks at an issue or situation.
- 24. amendment: An addition to the Constitution.
- 25. Preamble: The introduction to the Constitution.
- 26. federal system: A system of government in which power is shared between the central government and the state governments. The United States has a federal system of government.
- 27. **checks and balances:** The system in which the power of each branch of government is balanced by the powers of other branches.
- 28. **veto:** To refuse to approve.
- 29. ratify: To give official approval, for example, to the Constitution or amendments to it.
- 30. **Federalist:** A supporter of a strong central federal system of government in the late 1700's.
- 31. **Antifederalist:** An opponent of a strong central government in the late 1700's.
- 32. **Bill of Rights:** The first ten amendments to the Constitution, ratified in 1791.
- 33. **secretary:** The head of each department in the executive branch of government. As a group the secretaries are called the President's Cabinet.
- 34. **Cabinet:** The officials appointed by the President to be advisers and to head each department in the executive branch.
- 35. **political party:** A group of people who share similar ideas about government.
- 36. **George Washington:** 1732-1799. First President of the United States from 1789 to 1797.
- 37. New York City: The largest city in the United States, located in southeastern New York state. 41 degrees North, 71 degrees West.